SIMBIOS Team

The SIMBIOS team is a multidisciplinary group of scientists who use systems approaches to interrogate complex natural systems. Combining experimental and theoretical approaches we focus on the emergence of (i) soil ecosystem functioning from the microscopic complexity of soils and (ii) tumours in tissue from cell processes and interactions.

Professor Wilfred Otten

Chair of Biophysics of Soil Ecosystems
Co-Director of the SIMBIOS Centre

E: w.otten@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)1382 308533

Professor Philippe C. Baveye

Chair of Soil Ecosystems Modelling
The SIMBIOS Centre, and

Kodak Professor of Environmental Engineering
Rensselear Polytechnic Institute, Troy, New York

E: p.baveye@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)1382 308646

Dr Andrew Spiers

Reader
Environmental & Molecular Microbiology

E: a.spiers@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)1382 308730

Dr Ruth E. Falconer

Lecturer in Modelling and Visualization

E: r.falconer@abertay.ac.uk
T:
+44 (0)1382 308459

Dr Bente Foereid

Lecturer in Environmental and Soil Science

E: b.foereid@abertay.ac.uk
T:
+44 (0)1382 308153

Dr Simona M. Hapca

Lecturer in Statistics

E: s.hapca@abertay.ac.uk
T:
+44 (0)1382 308695

Dr Sonja Schmidt

X-ray CT Operations Manager and PDRA soil physics

E: s.schmidt@abertay.ac.uk
T:+44 1382 308329

Biological Systems

Professor Jim Bown

Institute of Arts, Media and Computer Games

Chair of Systems Biology
Co-Director of the SIMBIOS Centre

E: j.bown@abertay.ac.uk
T:
+44 (0)1382 308471

Dr Alexey Goltsov

SICSA Reader in Computational Modelling

E: a.goltsov@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)1382 308432

Mr Michael Idowu

Researcher/PhD Student in Modelling and Complex Network Dynamics

E: m.idowu@abertay.ac.uk
T:+44 01382 30 8453

Dr Yusuf Deeni

Lecturer in Biological Sciences

E: Y.deeni@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)1382

Dr Adam Sampson

Lecturer in Computational Modelling

E: a.sampson@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)1382

Dr Anne Savage

Research Fellow in Systems Pathology

E: a.savage@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)1382

Mr Alistair Eberts

Research Fellow in Systems Pathology

E: a.eberts@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)1382

PhD Students

Miss Helen Downie

PhD student with JHI

E: Helen.Downie@hutton.ac.uk
T:+44 1382 562731

Mr Alasdair Houston

PhD student

E: a.houston@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 1382 308142

Miss Caroline Upton

PhD student with JHI

E: Caroline.Upton@hutton.ac.uk
T:

Miss Ye Li

PhD student

E: y.li@abertay.ac.uk
T: +44 1382